Australia, New Zealand To Co-Host 2023 Women's World Cup

Reporter Reporter Ron Chang ㅣ 2020-06-26 10:49

Photo: Yonhap News
Photo: Yonhap News
The Women's World Cup in 2023 is set to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

The countries' joint bid beat Colombia 22-13 in a vote Thursday by FIFA's ruling council.

Both Australia and New Zealand, ranked seventh and 23rd, respectively, will automatically qualify for the event.

The 2023 tournament will be the first time a World Cup for men or women will be shared across two countries from different FIFA confederations -- Australia is a member of Asia's football body while New Zealand is in the Oceania group.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino stressed the need to boost women's football and suggested the next edition of the tournament could possibly take place just two years later.

Infantino said, "If you have to wait four years all the time, maybe it's a bit long."

Please send comments to tbsefmnews@gmail.com
copyright © tbs. Unauthorized redistribution prohibited.