Govt Designates 7 Regions Special Disaster Zones After Torrential Rains

Reporter Ron Chang ㅣ 2020-08-07 18:12

Image: Yonhap News
Image: Yonhap News
The South Korean government has designated seven areas across the central region as special disaster zones after days of heavy rain and deadly flooding.

They are Anseong in Gyeonggi Province, Cheorwon in Gangwon Province, Chungju and Jecheon in North Chungcheong Province, and Cheonan and Asan in South Chungcheong Province.

The Ministry of Interior and Safety on Friday said other regions could also be designated special disaster zones after reviewing the scope of destruction.

The decision paves the way for expanded state support to assist hard-hit communities and residents start the recovery process.

Torrents and landslides triggered by downpours have left at least 10 dead, 17 missing and thousands displaced from their homes.

Please send comments to tbsefmnews@gmail.com
copyright © tbs. Unauthorized redistribution prohibited.